10 Things I Hate About You (1999)

“Who needs affection when I have blind hatred?”

Patrick Verona, 10 Things I Hate About You

In this adaptation of Shakespeare’s play The Taming of the Shrew, the anti-social ‘shrew’ Kat Stratford starts to date the mysterious bad-boy Patrick Verona, only to get her heart broken.

What did I like the most?

The chemistry between Patrick and Kat is undeniable, even if it started as a lie. Heath Ledger gave an impeccable performance and captured his role perfectly.
And let’s not forget about the swoon-worthy staircase dance by him on the song Can’t Take My Eyes Off You.

Why is it in my Top 10?

The easy acting and the light-hearted dialogues are the core of this movie. Cameron played by Joseph Gordon-Levitt is a romantic and hopelessly in love with Bianca, who is the perfect Barbie-doll. The set of quirky side characters in this movie make it a very fun and relaxing watch.

Conclusion?

I have watched this movie at least a fifty times. That’s saying something.

Heath Ledger and Julia Stiles in 10 Things I Hate About You (1999)

Leave a comment