Gone With The Wind (1939)

“Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn!”

Rhett Butler, Gone With The Wind

Set during the Civil War, a cunning and manipulative girl, Scarlett O’Hara, tries to get together with the man she loves. However, she eventually falls for a rogue billionaire and gambler.

What did I like?

This movie is so much more than just a love story.

First of all, it’s four hours long. I was a bit skeptical about watching it at first because I wasn’t sure if I’ll be able to keep up. Turns out, I didn’t get bored even once.

Gone With The Wind is one of the most successful classics ever. It won eight Oscars, including Best Picture and Best Actress. It was also the first colour movie to win an Oscar for Best Picture. This movie created a lot of firsts for Hollywood.

The acting, of course, was perfect. I also loved Vivien Leigh’s extravagant dresses.

Clark Gable and Vivien Leigh, Gone With The Wind (1939)

The love story in this movie revolves mainly around Rhett and Scarlett. Scarlett started out as a childish girl who was used to getting what she wanted because of her exceptional beauty, except for her unrequited crush on her best friend. The character development of Scarlett is one of my favourite aspects of this film.

What did I not like?

Somehow, I felt that Rhett and Scarlett’s chemistry was based more on their challenging personalities rather than actual love. Scarlett’s pride and Rhett’s cockiness were clashing throughout the movie, and even though it did provide us with some of the best dialogues of all times (see above quote), I personally wasn’t a huge fan of them.

Conclusion?

Don’t let the duration of this film intimidate you. Watch it in one sitting or in parts, but watch it!

Leave a comment